
Starter costs $5 per month, Basic costs $39, Grow costs $105, Advanced costs $399, and Shopify Plus starts around $2,300 per month. The right choice depends less on the cheapest subscription and more on the operational ceiling your store is about to hit.
You're probably looking at Shopify's pricing page with a launch date approaching, a small team behind you, and no appetite for rebuilding checkout during your busiest sales period. The tempting answer is to pick the plan that fits today's revenue. The better answer is to choose the tier that fits your next operational constraint.
A useful Shopify plans comparison must account for more than the subscription. Staff access, payment costs, reporting depth, shipping tools, international selling, and checkout control can change how your team works every day. This guide matches each plan to the business stage where it makes sense, then identifies the point where Shopify Plus becomes an operational decision rather than an expensive badge.
A founder can spend an afternoon comparing feature checkboxes and still make the wrong decision. The five paid tiers create a clear ladder: Starter at $5 per month, Basic at $39, Grow at $105, Advanced at $399, and Shopify Plus starting around $2,300 per month. Shopify's current pricing structure and annual rates are outlined in this Shopify pricing breakdown.
The mistake is treating that ladder as a simple progression from small to large. A pre-launch seller may need only a lightweight way to sell through social channels. A new direct-to-consumer brand may need a proper online storefront but still operate with a founder and one collaborator. A scaling team may care less about design features and more about reporting, staff access, payment economics, and market expansion.
Practical rule: Pick the plan that removes your next bottleneck, not the plan that looks impressive in a pricing table.
Overpaying creates a different problem. An early store on Advanced can spend far more on capacity it doesn't use, while a fast-growing brand on Basic may discover that its reporting and staff limits become painful during a critical campaign. The subscription is only one part of the decision. Shopify's third-party transaction fees decline as plans increase, and those fees apply when a merchant doesn't use Shopify Payments, as explained on Shopify's official pricing page.
Plan selection affects how many people can work in the admin, which reports they can access, and how confidently they can manage inventory and marketing decisions. It also affects shipping economics and the tools available as international operations become more complex.
A team that outgrows Basic during peak season may be able to upgrade, but the timing still matters. Apps, permissions, reports, payment settings, and campaign workflows need review whenever the store's operating model changes. The risk isn't only the monthly bill. It's making a structural decision under pressure.

Start with four questions:
That framework makes the decision defensible. You aren't choosing a tier because another brand uses it. You're matching the plan to the work your team must perform.
The practical way to evaluate Shopify is to identify what each plan lets your team do, then list what remains unavailable. Marketing language matters less than the limits that affect a normal working day.
Starter costs $5 per month and suits a side hustle or pre-launch project selling through social profiles, messages, and shareable product links. It can help validate demand without committing to a full storefront build.
That convenience comes with a clear boundary. Starter isn't the right foundation for a brand that needs a complete online shopping experience, extensive merchandising, or a larger operating team. Use it when the immediate job is taking orders through social channels. Move to Basic when the store needs to function as a destination in its own right.
Basic costs $39 per month, or $29 per month when billed annually, according to the Shopify plan comparison from PageFly. It provides the foundation for a real online store and is usually the correct starting point for a new DTC brand.
Basic includes up to 77% shipping discounts on USPS, which can matter when a small operation is watching contribution margin order by order. Its limitations are more relevant as the team expands. Basic provides two staff seats, has a 2.0% third-party transaction fee, and doesn't provide the deeper reporting or broader staff capacity associated with higher tiers. The third-party fee applies when the merchant uses a provider other than Shopify Payments, as Shopify explains in its pricing documentation.
Grow costs $105 per month, or $79 per month annually. The plan is Shopify's renamed and repositioned middle tier, previously associated with the “Shopify” plan, and it targets brands that have outgrown Basic without needing enterprise terms.
Grow provides five staff seats, lower third-party transaction fees at 1.0%, and basic reports. Those changes matter when a founder is no longer the only person managing merchandising, fulfillment, customer support, and marketing. Grow still isn't a full checkout customization solution, so upgrading to it won't solve a need for bespoke checkout behavior.
Advanced costs $399 per month, or $299 per month on annual billing. It provides 15 staff seats, the lowest standard-plan card rate, advanced reports, and broader tools for brands operating across markets.
Its exclusions are just as important. Advanced still doesn't provide Shopify Plus's full checkout customization. If the business needs the Shopify Plus checkout capabilities documented by Shopify, including the Checkout Branding API, direct editing through Shopify Extensions, or distinct B2B and D2C checkout flows in one store, Advanced is not the final answer.
The cleanest comparison separates fixed subscription cost from payment economics and feature gates. Annual pricing reduces the effective monthly commitment, but it makes sense only when you're confident the store will remain on that tier.
| Feature | Starter ($5/mo) | Basic ($39/mo) | Grow ($105/mo) | Advanced ($399/mo) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | $5 | $39 | $105 | $399 |
| Annual price per month | Not specified | $29 | $79 | $299 |
| Staff seats | Limited social-selling setup | 2 | 5 | 15 |
| Online card rate | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Lowest standard-plan rate |
| Third-party fee | Higher than standard tiers | 2.0% | 1.0% | 0.6% |
| Shipping discount | Not specified | Up to 77% on USPS | Higher-tier access | Higher-tier access |
| Report tier | Not specified | Basic storefront reporting | Basic reports | Advanced reports |
| Number of markets | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | Broader market capability |
The verified plan economics show why a higher tier can make sense even when its subscription is larger. Moving from Basic to Grow adds $66 per month, while the third-party fee falls from 2.0% to 1.0%. The fee difference becomes more meaningful as sales processed through a third-party provider rise. You should calculate that saving against the subscription difference rather than upgrading because the store “feels bigger.”
Advanced adds a much larger fixed cost than Grow, but it reduces the third-party fee to 0.6% and provides deeper reporting and more staff capacity. It also supports broader market operations. The relevant break-even point depends on payment method, market mix, and how much the team values reporting and access controls, so don't use a generic revenue threshold without checking your own payment volume.
For a broader view of platform expenses beyond the subscription, review this Shopify monthly cost guide. The key distinction is between features that scale with activity and features that are merely gates. Lower fees can produce ongoing savings as volume grows. Staff seats, report access, and checkout controls don't scale gradually. You either have enough access for the team or you don't.
A plan becomes easier to choose when you put it inside a store's operating reality. The following scenarios use the verified subscription and third-party fee rates, but the break-even trigger for each business still depends on payment mix and the features the team needs.
| Scenario | Monthly GMV | Recommended Plan | Monthly Cost | Third-party fee | Break-even trigger |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-launch side hustle | Under consistent sales | Starter | $5 | Higher than standard tiers | Move when a full storefront or stronger operating tools justify it |
| New DTC brand | $8K to $15K | Basic | $39 | 2.0% | Upgrade when fee savings or team limits exceed the higher plan cost |
| Six-figure operation | Around $105K or more | Grow | $105 | 1.0% | The fee reduction becomes meaningful as third-party sales approach the plan-cost difference |
| High-GMV brand | Above $400K | Advanced | $399 | 0.6% | Upgrade when Advanced limits, market needs, or fee savings justify the next tier |
A pre-launch seller using social content and product links doesn't need to finance a full commerce operation before demand exists. Starter keeps the fixed commitment at $5 per month. The trade-off is higher transaction economics and a less complete storefront experience, but that may be acceptable while sales are inconsistent.
The upgrade trigger isn't a particular revenue milestone. It's the moment customers need a proper store, the founder needs stronger merchandising, or the business must support regular fulfillment and customer service workflows.
A brand doing $8K to $15K in monthly GMV can often remain on Basic. The 2.0% third-party fee may be visible in the margin model, and two staff seats can feel restrictive once a contractor or operations hire joins. Still, the $39 subscription keeps the fixed platform cost controlled while the team proves repeatable acquisition.
The decision changes when the fee difference between Basic and Grow exceeds Grow's additional subscription cost, or when reporting and staff access become operational blockers. Calculate only the sales processed through a third-party provider. Shopify states that third-party transaction fees don't apply when Shopify Payments is used.
A store operating at approximately $105K in monthly GMV has a stronger case for Grow. The plan's 1.0% third-party fee, five staff seats, and reporting tools make it better suited to a team coordinating several functions. At this stage, reporting isn't a luxury. Merchandising, retention, and inventory decisions need a shared view of performance.
Grow is still the right answer only if the store can operate within standard checkout capabilities. If B2B and D2C workflows need to diverge inside one store, the operational question has moved beyond the middle tier.
A brand above $400K per month may choose Advanced for the 0.6% third-party fee, advanced reports, staff capacity, and market tools. The $399 subscription is easy to compare against fee savings, but the plan still has a hard ceiling around full checkout customization.
Advanced is a strong standard-plan endpoint. It isn't a substitute for Plus when the business needs enterprise checkout control, complex wholesale operations, or multi-store governance.
Shopify Plus starts around $2,300 per month on longer-term contracts, making it a commercial decision rather than a casual upgrade. The fee reduction can contribute to the case, but the decisive trigger is usually operational. A brand should consider Plus when its current plan prevents it from implementing a checkout, market, wholesale, or store architecture that the business needs.
Shopify Plus is the only plan in this comparison with full checkout customization. Shopify's documentation identifies the Plus-specific Checkout Branding API, direct editing through Shopify Extensions, and unique checkout flows for B2B and D2C in one store.
That matters when checkout logic affects margin, customer eligibility, shipping rules, or wholesale payment behavior. Advanced can support a capable standard checkout, but it won't provide the full control a complex brand may require. A Plus decision should begin with a documented checkout requirement, not a desire to appear more established.

Plus becomes rational when the business needs several of the following:
Plus also changes the relationship with Shopify through enterprise support and negotiated commercial terms. That can matter when downtime, launch coordination, or complex integrations carry material business consequences.
The economics should still be tested. A lower negotiated or enterprise transaction rate may offset part of the fixed Plus cost at sufficient volume, but Shopify Plus pricing varies by contract and market. Don't approve the plan until Shopify or a qualified partner has modeled your actual payment mix and store structure.
This Shopify Plus pricing guide can help frame the commercial questions before a sales conversation.
The video below provides additional context on the platform decision.
Plus isn't automatically sensible for a single-market store with a small operating team and straightforward checkout. Advanced may provide enough reporting, staff access, shipping capability, and market support without adding enterprise complexity.
You also need people who can use the advanced tools. If the business has no developer, technical partner, or internal owner for checkout extensibility and integrations, Plus can become an expensive collection of unused capabilities. Buy it for an operational requirement you can name and resource.
Founders need a recommendation they can act on today. Use the following map rather than treating every tier as equally plausible.
Choose Starter at $5 per month if social selling and product links are enough. Choose Basic at $39 per month when the brand needs a proper storefront, stronger merchandising, and a more complete customer journey.
Don't build an enterprise operating model before you've proven that customers want the product. Keep the fixed platform cost aligned with the work the team performs.
At $5K to $50K per month, Basic usually remains sensible. Upgrade when the two-seat limit blocks normal work, reports no longer answer the questions the team asks, or the third-party fee savings justify Grow's higher subscription.
Many founders upgrade too early. A larger plan won't fix weak acquisition, poor merchandising, or unclear positioning. It should solve a specific operating constraint.
At $100K to $500K per month, Grow is the default recommendation when the store uses third-party payment processing and needs more staff access and reporting. Its five staff seats and 1.0% third-party fee support a more distributed operating team.
Advanced becomes the better choice when reporting depth, market expansion, or additional staff capacity matters more than keeping the subscription low.
At $500K or more per month, evaluate Advanced at $399 per month against the store's market, shipping, team, and checkout requirements. Advanced is appropriate when the brand needs stronger standard-plan capacity but doesn't require Plus-only checkout control.

At $5M or more in GMV, or when the business needs multiple stores, B2B and D2C in one architecture, or full checkout extensibility, Plus becomes rational. Revenue alone doesn't force the decision. The combination of commercial volume and operational complexity does.
Keep three rules in view:
A plan switch should follow the store's economics and operating needs. Upgrade when the next tier's fee savings exceed its additional subscription cost, or when a gated feature removes a current blocker. Downgrade when the higher tier no longer supports work the team performs, after checking the impact on staff access, reporting, markets, and checkout capabilities.
Products, customers, and orders generally remain within the Shopify store during a standard plan change. Apps, staff permissions, reports, payment settings, and custom workflows still need review, so don't treat a plan switch as entirely automatic.

A self-service upgrade between standard plans is usually manageable when the store has one storefront, standard apps, uncomplicated payment settings, and no custom checkout logic. Test permissions, reports, shipping settings, and critical app behavior after the change.
Bring in an agency when the move involves:
Before signing a Plus partner agreement, answer four questions: What operational ceiling are you removing? Which integrations require an audit? What must launch first? Who owns the technical decisions after migration? Those answers matter more than the plan label.
ECORN provides Shopify design, development, CRO, strategic consulting, and Shopify Plus implementation support for brands evaluating the next stage of their commerce setup. If you need a plan review, checkout assessment, or multi-store growth roadmap, visit ECORN and start with a focused project or ongoing support package.